Call Radiation Oncology Associates

Medical Physicists & Safety

Medical Physicists are the essential partners of Radiation Oncologists in delivering quality care in radiation therapy. They must have earned advanced degrees in physics, and had additional training in the medical field. They calibrate, maintain and watch over the complicated radiation-generating equipment, ensure accuracy of treatment plans and dose calculations, and are personally involved in high-tech treatments such as stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS).

When your doctor is “board-certified”, it means that he or she has had comprehensive training and has passed several examinations by a member of the American Board of Medical Specialists (ABMS). Medical physicists are the only non-MD specialists who may be certified by the ABMS, through the same process.

Shanjin He, PhD

He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Radiology and has been a staff physicist in the Radiation Oncology Department at Inova Fairfax Hospital since 2006. He completed his medical physics training in the Division of Medical Physics at the Department of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences at The Johns Hopkins Hospital and The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center in Baltimore, MD.

James George, M.A., M.S.

Has served as a Medical Physicist with the Department of Radiation Oncology at Inova Fairfax Hospital since 2002. He is certified in Therapeutic Radiological Physics by the American College of Radiology and oversees the Department’s brachytherapy and radiation safety programs. His training includes a Master’s Degree in Physics from Western Michigan University and a Masters in Business Administration from George Washington University. Mr. George is a retired Navy Captain, and prior to coming to Inova, he was the Head of Radiation Physics at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda and is also the prior Head of the Radiation Safety Branch of the Bureau of Medicine and Surgery in Washington, D.C.

Michael Taylor

American Board of Radiology Certified, Diagnostic and Therapeutic Physics

Jose Mendez

Has served as a certified Radiation Safety Officer with the Inova Health System since 2006. He is certified in Radiological Emergency Response and Advanced Radiological Incident Operations through the Federal Emergency Management Association (FEMA). Prior to joining our team, Jose served as the Radiation Safety Officer at the Washington Hospital Centers.

Moonseong Oh, Ph.D., DABR

Joined Inova Fairfax Hospital in 2015 after nearly eight years of serving at Mercy Hospital in Oklahoma City as a medical physicist. He obtained his doctorate degree (Ph.D.) at the State University of New York at Buffalo and trained at Roswell Park Cancer Institute in Buffalo, NY. He is a Board Certified Therapeutic Physicist by the American Board of Radiology. He serves and provides a wide range of radiation oncology support for treatments such as brachytherapy, stereotactic radiosurgery, stereotactic body radiotherapy, 3D conformal radiation therapy (3D-CRT), and intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT).

Sidi M Benhabib, Ph.D.

Joined Inova Medical Campus in December 2014, after finishing a two years CAMPEP residency in therapeutic medical physics at the University of Alabama in Birmingham. He obtained a doctorate in therapeutic medical physics in North Carolina at East Carolina University in 2012. His clinical interests are centered on providing the most optimized and efficient treatment using intensity modulated radiation therapy, stereotactic body radiotherapy, stereotactic radiosurgery combined with respiratory gating, as well as brachytherapy with all its subfields. High clinical focus for novel treatment planning techniques, treatment process development, and clinical implementation of new technologies.